Heart Glitter Shoes Tutorial

photo

Aren’t they adorable? I’m obsessed.

For Christmas this year I wanted to make my sister something she couldn’t go out and buy herself. After a lot of research and a lot of time spent on Pinterest I decided that I should try to make her a pair of shoes. That is how this project came to be. Surprisingly, this project was pretty simple. I made my sister the pokeball-inspired shoe featured below.

IMG_0421

For me, there’s something so awesome about being able to design and wear my own art. I hope you’ll find this tutorial useful and be able to create something that is not only marvelous, but also truly unique to you!

Materials Needed: 

1 pair of shoes

Acrylic Paint

Mod Podge

A sponge paint brush

A thin paint brush for small details

Clear Acrylic Aerosol Spray Sealer

A stencil

Glitter

Step One: Find the perfect pair of shoes that you want to turn into something more beautiful. I found my pair on sale at Urban Outfitter for $10. That was $10 well spent. You can also use a pair of shoes you already have!

DSC_0028

Step 2: With a sponge brush and acrylic paint, paint to desired color. It took me a few coats to get them to be completely white. If they’re already desired color then you can skip this step!

DSC_0032

Step 3: Cut out stencil of design and trace it on to the shoes. For the glitter, I mixed together mod podge and gold glitter and filled in the heart I traced on.

DSC_0036

Step 4: COVER THOSE SHOES IN CLEAR ACRYLIC ARESOL SEALER. Especially the glitter. This will stop the glitter from falling off and protect your shoes in the rain.

Step 5: Let them dry.

Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.12.24 PM

Step 6: Wear them and feel fabulous.

photo

If you tried this, let me know what your thoughts are! I would love to see your wearable works of art. 🙂

Leave a Reply

