Thrifty (and freakishly adorable) Valentine’s day gifts!

My boyfriend and I are huge fans of DIY gifts. In fact, I can only think of 1 gift I’ve purchased for him in during our two year relationship. I love giving and receiving handmade items. Anyone can just go out and buy you something but it takes a different sort of relationship to think outside the box and create something that leaves you surprised.  Below are some of the best gifts that we’ve made for each other.

1. A woodburned piece of art.

Most of my friends know about my obsession with Hello Kitty and Harry Potter. If you’ve known me for more than 10 minutes then I’ve probably already made about 14 Harry Potter references and you’ve noticed the millions of Hello Kitty stickers on my iPhone case. Somehow, my boyfriend found a way to combine both of these loves in the plaque below.

Hello Kitty

2. A meme scrapbook featuring you, your pets and your best friends.

Laying under the tree this year was a meme scrapbook personalized just for me! Secretly, I wish this Christmas present went viral. These were some of my favorites:

photo copy 2 photo copy 3 photo copy 4

3. A personal recording of his/her favorite novel.

Before my boyfriend went away to Marine Corps training for the summer, he made sure not to leave me empty-handed. He made me a personal recording of the first five chapters of Twilight. I was so excited that I couldn’t wait and I listened to the entire thing that night. Being able to hear his voice when I couldn’t readily call him was one of the best presents I’ve ever received.

4. A crocheted hat.

Simple, yet timeless. Keep your significant other warm and show them you care! I found a very simple hat pattern and personalized it by adding a detachable crocheted beard. Below is a slightly creepy picture of me wearing it…

IMG_0176

5. A romanic gesture made out of post-it notes.

IMG00051-20110214-2322

It was love at first sight when I saw this beautiful paper heart!

6. Some sort of baked creation.

Everyone loves something edible. This year for Valentine’s day I made my boyfriend heart shaped bacon-whiskey sugar cookies. They tasted about as good as it sounds (meaning… not very). Nonetheless, Mama always said it’s the thought that counts!

Bacon-whiskey cookies

Do you have any great DIY Valentine’s gift ideas? Please feel welcome to share your wonderful ideas. 🙂

Happy Valentine’s Day!

One thought on “Thrifty (and freakishly adorable) Valentine’s day gifts!

Leave a Reply

