DIY Yoyo Christmas Wreath (tutorial)

A while ago my Grandma gave me some old Christmas yoyos her sister had. My grandma noticed I started creating a yoyo quilt and she thought I might be able to do something creative with some extra yoyos. They sat in one of my drawers for years throughout college until I decided to actually do something with them. I didn’t have enough of them to make a quilt, so I tried to some up with some sort of wonderful Christmas present I could give to my grandparents. I thought about making some sort of garland, but I crocheted a garland a few years before and I was in the mood for something creative! I spent a while thinking about what to do with them and after seeing some beautiful Christmas wreaths on Pinterest, I thought it might make a beautiful, whimsical wreath for them! And I was right!

DSC_0050

I’m really happy with how this came out. It’s so cute and vintage-looking. Yoyos are such a great craft to know how to do because you can use them for so many beautiful projects. I’ve seen yoyo flowers, quilts, stuffed animals, pins and all sorts of creations!

IMG_0144
This is only the start of my yoyo quilt!

To start off, you need to know how to make a yoyo. I recommend watching this video to learn. I learned how to make yoyos from a woman at a craft fair a couple of years ago and it stuck with me for a while because I feel in love with how cute they are.

If you’re ready to make your own Christmas wreath, follow the tutorial below!

Materials needed:

  • 5 large yoyos (about 3 inches wide)
  • 20 medium yoyos (about 1 1/2 inches wide)
  • 5 small yoyos (about 1 inch wide)
  • A circular base for your wreath. The one I bought is only about a foot wide and I found it at Michaels.
  • Scissors
  • Hot glue gun
  • A couple yards of ribbon (not necessary, it just gives the wreath a nice look)
  • Thread and a sewing needle

DSC_0033

Step 1: Wrap ribbon all around the wreath base. Use the hot glue gun and glue every couple of inches so it stays secure. Cut when you cover the whole circle with ribbon.

DSC_0038

Step 2: Sew yoyos together like seen below. For the three joined together, sew three medium sized yoyos together to make a triangle. Place a small yoyo on top to cover the open space in the middle. For the two yoyos, sew one medium yoyo on top of a large yoyo. When sewing them together, don’t worry about it looking perfect or being super secure. This isn’t a quit. You really just want it to be secure enough that it stays together.

DSC_0041DSC_0042DSC_0043

Step 3: Glue the yoyos onto the ribbon however you would like. I alternated between the two styles I made. I did have to place them fairly close together in order to fit all of them, but I think it gives it a nice look. Set the wreath aside and give it a few minutes to cool down.

Step 4: Create a backing for wreath. I opted for just a simple back made out of some old ribbon I had. As long as you can hang it up, the job is done!

photo copy

Step 5: Make a bow to attach to the front! Use my video tutorial  or use your favorite bow tutorial!

DSC_0053

Did you try this tutorial? Let me know how it turned out! I would love to see more yoyo wreaths 😀

Happy Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

