Easy Crochet Bow Tutorial

I’ve found a couple of different crochet bows patterns around the internet but I’ve never found one that I really liked.  I’m assuming someone else has made this bow before, but I haven’t seen it anywhere before and I thought I might share it with the world!

Bows are great because they make a cute and easy addition to any crochet project. I’ve added them to headbands, hats, barrettes, You can make them in all sorts of sizes and colors! The pattern is easy to adjust to fit to any project you’re working on!

What you’ll need:

  • Yarn (I used acrylic Red Heart Yarn, but you can really use any yarn)
  • Hook (I used a 5, but just use a hook that matches the type of yarn you’re using)
  • Scissors
  • Needle for weaving in ends

DSC_0078

Crochet Abbreviations: ch = chain, hdc = half double crochet

Row 1: Ch 17

DSC_0083

Row 2: Starting in the third ch from the hook, hdc in every ch

DSC_0084

Row 3 – 9: Ch 3, turn,  hdc in each hdc across. At the end of row 9, fasten off and weave in ends.

If you want a fuller bow, add more rows of hdc and for a less-full bow, subtract a row or two of hdc rows.

DSC_0106

DSC_0108

DSC_0111

Yay!! Now you’re done crocheting and you’re ready to put it all together!

Step 1: Thread your needle. Use your hand to pinch the bow as you would like it to stay.

DSC_0117

Step 2: Push the needle through the center. Pull the yarn all the way through and make a knot on the side that you want to be the back of the bow. Leave excess yarn at the end because you’re going to use it later.

DSC_0122

DSC_0127

DSC_0136

Step 3: Wrap yarn around center of the bow until it reaches the thickness you like.

DSC_0138

Step 4: Using the excess yarn from the other end, make a knot on the back of the bow.

DSC_0141

Step 5:Using your crochet hook, pull the excess yarn through the center of the bow. Cut off the excess yarn.

DSC_0144

DSC_0147

Step 6: Admire your beautiful bow!

DSC_0150

Here’s some ways I’ve used bows in my crochet projects:

DSC_0092
Put the bow on a barrette and have a cute hair bow!
Hello Kitty Hat
Hello Kitty Hat

If you try to make the bow, let me know what you used it for! I love seeing new crochet projects 😀

Leave a Reply

