Eye Heart You Emoji Crochet Hat Pattern

imgres

 

Hello!

I came up with this idea because I’ve been seeing emojis on everything lately and this is one of my favorite emojis! This is also a great pattern for Valentine’s Day which is coming up in only a couple of weeks!DSC_0775

I don’t really write my own hat-base patterns. I will find a basic hat pattern and use that for the yellow part of the hat. So here’s a good one!  I used this yarn for the base. 

For the heart eyes I also used another pattern here! You can use another pattern you might know but I tried to avoid using a heart pattern that had a lot of holes in it (like granny square heart patterns). For the smaller hat (toddler size) I used a smaller heart pattern and for the larger hat (adult size) I found a larger heart pattern for the eyes. I wanted it to look bright and kind of animated (obviously like an emoji hahahaha).  I used this yarn for the heart eyes. 

DSC_0777

For the mouth I did improvise a lil pattern:

For the mouth on the toddler/child hat:

With the black yarn, using a size 5 hook

Round 1: Chain 11

Round 2: Single crochet in the second chain from the hook, half double crochet in the next stitch, double crochet in the next five stitches, half double crochet in the next stitch, single crochet in the last stitch.After you single crochet in the last stitch chain one and then insert the hook into the last stitch again and pull through. This will make the mouth look a little curved at the edges like the emoji.

For the mouth on the adult/teenager hat:

With the black yarn, using a size 5 hook

Round 1: Chain 13

Round 2: SC in the second chain from the hook, half double crochet in the next stitch, double crochet in the next stitch, triple crochet in the next six stitches, double crochet in the next stitch, half double crochet in the next stitch and single crochet in the last stitch. After you single crochet in the last stitch chain one and then insert the hook into the last stitch again and pull through. This will make the mouth look a little curved at the edges like the emoji.

DSC_0775

The first one I sewed all together was the toddler hat and I made a few mistakes on it if you look at it closely. In the real emoji the heart eyes are turned in at the bottoms so the tops of the hearts are facing out. I didn’t do this in the smaller hat. Also the eyes are super crooked on the hat. So when you’re placing the hearts on the hat make sure they’re turned out like they are in the bigger one and also made sure that you try to place the tops of the hearts on the same crochet line in your hat so that way it’s even! I hadn’t crocheted anything in a while before I made this so I was bound to make some lil mistakes. It’s kewl tho that’s how you learn and teach other people!

DSC_0780

For the mouth you just want to place it towards the bottom and between the center of the eyes. I used a line in my crocheted hat to make sure it was straight and then I used the sewing needle to create the curve at the edges. You just want to try to sew the ends a little above the line.

Anyways I’m really excited to be sharing this hat!! Let me know if you’ve made it! I would love to see other hats. 🙂

Leave a Reply

